GOVERNMENT OF ODISHA SKILL DEVELOPMENT & TECHNICAL EDUCATION DEPARTMENT

No. SDTE-HTE-HTE-II-0042-2017/4446/SDTE, Bhubaneswar, dated 21/06/23

From

Sri Tapan Kumar Satapathy, OAS, Additional Secretary to Government

To

The Vice-Chancellor, BPUT, Odisha, Rourkela/ VSSUT, Burla/ OUTR, Bhubaneswar The Director, IGIT, Sarang, The Principal, PMEC, Berhampur/ GCE, Kalahandi/ GCE, Keonjhar/ IMIT, Cuttack

Sub: Implementation of Career Advancement Scheme (CAS)

Sir,

With reference to the subject mentioned above, I am directed to send herewith the minutes of the meeting held on 17.06.2023 at 11.00 AM under the chairmanship of the Principal Secretary to Government to discuss the anomalies for counting of total experience for promotion from Associate Professor to Professor under Career Advancement Scheme (CAS) as per AICTE-2019 guidelines and request that necessary steps may please be taken accordingly for implementation of CAS.

Yours faithfully,

Additional Secretary to Government

Minutes of the meeting held on 17.06.2023 at 11.00 AM under the chairmanship of Principal Secretary to Government, SD&TE Department to discuss the anomalies for counting of total experience for promotion from Associate Professor to Professor under Career Advancement Scheme (CAS) as per AICTE-2019 guidelines

A meeting was held on 17.06.2023 at 11.00 AM through hybrid under the chairmanship of the Principal Secretary to Government, SD&TE Department through hybrid mode to discuss the anomalies for counting of total experience for promotion from Associate Professor to Professor under Career Advancement Scheme (CAS) as per AICTE-2019 guidelines. The following members were present during the meeting:

| Sl. No. | Name | Designation |
|---------|-----------------------------------|--|
| 1 | Smt. Usha Padhee, IAS | Principal Secretary to Govt., SD&TE Department |
| 2 | Shri Tapan Kumar Satapathy, OAS | Addl. Secretary to Govt.,SD&TE Department |
| 3 | Prof. (Dr.) Banshidhar Majhi | Vice-Chancellor, VSSUT, Burla |
| 4 | Prof. (Dr.) Amiya Kumar Rath | Vice-Chancellor, BPUT, Rourkela |
| 5 | Prof. (Dr.) Bibhuti Bhusan Biswal | Vice-Chancellor, OUTR, Bhubaneswar |
| 6 | Prof. (Dr.) Satyabrata Mohanta | Director, IGIT, Sarang |
| 7 | Prof. (Dr.) Ranjan Kumar Swain | Principal, PMEC, Berhampur |
| 8 | Prof. (Dr.) Dulu Patnaik | Principal, GCE, Kalahandi |
| 9 | Prof. (Dr.) Trilochan Sahu | Principal, GCE, Keonjhar |
| 10 | Prof. (Dr.) M. R. Kabat | Principal, IMIT, Cuttack |
| 11 | Prof. (Dr.) Pramod Ku. Parida | Comptroller of Finance, OUTR, Bhubaneswar |
| 12 | Prof. (Dr.) Ramakanta Panigrahi | Dean, Faculty & Planning, VSSUT, Burla |

After detailed deliberation, the following have been resolved:

- (a) All the Government Technical Universities and Engineering/Professional Institutions/Colleges shall follow AICTE-2019 guidelines for promotion under Career Advancement Scheme (CAS).
- (b) While scrutinizing/assessing the experience required for a candidate to be promoted to the post of Professor under CAS, a candidate must have at least three years of experience as an Associate professor in addition to his/her past experience, which should be more than or equal to fifteen (15) years along with other eligibility criteria as mentioned under the AICTE-2019 guidelines.
- (c) For counting of past experience, existing records available with the University/Institution during the appointment of the incumbent as Reader/Associate Professor shall be taken at face value. Candidate may also submit additional experience, if any, which will be circulated in the public domain for 15 days. For verification of the same, University/Institute may also refer to the AICTE portal.
- (d) This past experience of the candidates will be considered only for the purpose of promotion from Associate Professor to Professor under the Career Advancement Scheme (CAS) and not for any other purpose.
- (e) The effective date of promotion for the faculty under CAS will be the next date of the last promotion of a faculty under CAS in a similar position or the actual date of promotion or the date recommended by the selection committee whichever is later.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

By Order of the Principal Secretary to Govt.

Additional Secretary to Govt.